Michigan Genealogical Council

Organization & Purpose
The Michigan Genealogical Council is a 501(c)(3) corporation.


  • To coordinate/stimulate genealogical activities of statewide interest, including seminars.
  • To cooperate in the location, preservation, publication, and deposit in suitable repositories, of Michigan records of value to genealogists.
  • To provide information to the membership regarding speakers, teachers, seminars, and workshops.
  • To encourage and/or work with other organizations or agencies involved in promoting improvements in genealogical facilities and holdings of Michigan archives, libraries, museums and record repositories

Operating Year: July 2023 – June 2024
Executive Committee
President: Judy Nimer-Muhn
Vice-President: Shaun Thomas
Recording Secretary Delegate: Tim Salatin
Recording Secretary Board: Chelsea Johnson-Heisler
Corresponding Secretary: Thomas Koselka
Treasurer: Jill O’Sullivan
Director term ending 2024: Melissa Kendzierski
Director term ending 2025: Brenda Leyndyke
Director term ending 2026: Sue Irvine

Standing Committees
Awards: Barbara Curtindale
Continuing Education: Judy Nimer Muhn
Finance & Budget: Jill O’Sullivan
Media Communications: Judy Sheldon
Membership: Melissa Kendzierski
Newsletter: Paul Roltsch
Projects: Roger Moffat
Public Records Access: Derek Blount

Special Committees
Archivist: Tim Salatin
Central Mail: Jessica Trotter
Distribution & Marketing: Vacant
Historian: Barbara Curtindale
Lucy Mary Kellogg Award: Jessica Trotter
NGS Delegate: Thomas Koselka
Past President Advisor: Rozlyn Kelly
Pioneer Certificates: Kim Smith
Registered Agent: Jill O’Sullivan
Webmaster: Thomas Koselka

Past Presidents
1972-1973: Wayne Seltzer (D)
1973-1975: Lenard (Leonard) Zorn (D)
1975-1977: Marian Dawson (D)
1977-1979: G. Curt Bradley (D)
1979-1981: Donald DeZeeuw (D)
1981-1983: Margaret Walker (D)
1985-1987: Marianne Cox (D)
1987-1989: Eunice Pines (D)
1989-1991: Kim Harrison
1991-1994: Al Freeman (D)
1994-1996: Velma Schafer (D)
1996-1999: Connie Olson
1999-2001: Dale A Ladd

2001-2003: Marilyn Hebner (D)
2003-2005: Ann Martin (D)
2005-2006: Mary Lou Duncan
2006-2007: Marilyn Hebner (D)
2007-2009: Joanne Harvey
2009-2012: Cynthia Grostick
2012-2017: Thomas Koselka
2017-2019: Katherine R Willson
2019-2021: Brenda Leyndyke
2021-2023: Rozlyn Kelly

(D) deceased

The Michigan Genealogical Council is a 501(c)(3) organization.