Michigan Genealogical Council
Michigan Genealogical Council

2016 LMK Recipient Constance Olson

GSMC members
Announcing the 2016 Lucy Mary Kellogg Award for outstanding service to further family history in the state of Michigan.
The Michigan Genealogical Council is proud to announce the recipient of the Lucy Mary Kellogg Award is Constance Kay Olson of the Genealogical Society of Washtenaw County (GSWC).  The announcement was made at the November 2016 delegate meeting for the Council in Lansing, MI.
Connie has been an active member of the GSWC since 1982.  She has provided valuable input and assistance to the society in various outreach programs, the New York Interest Group, several all-day workshops, and most recently spearheaded the update of the GSWC history.  She has written articles for the quarterly publication, Family History Capers.
Connie was the vice president of the Michigan Genealogical Council in 1994-1995, president from 1996-1999 and secretary for 2001-2002.  She has been the Council’s delegate to the national conference of the Federation of Genealogical Societies.
In addition to her activities in both the local and state genealogical societies, she has served on the board of the Sarah Caswell Angell Chapter of the Daughters of America, taught multiple class on genealogy at Washtenaw Community College, active with Elderwise in Ann Arbor, the Friends of Ann Arbor District Library and on the board of the Ann Arbor City Club.
Connie is always supportive and thoughtful.  She can find solutions to issues and discern trends.  She is a consistently active member and extremely generous with her time.
Connie is a Michigan native and a graduate of the University of Michigan.
The Lucy Mary Kellogg award was established in 1992 by the Michigan Genealogical Council to honor Lucy Mary Kellogg as the founding member and, an eminent Michigan genealogist. Her accomplishments on the state and national levels were recognized in 1991 as the first woman and the first from the Midwest area to be named to the National Genealogy Hall of Fame.